top of page

Unchained Melody by Austin


I was quite surprised when once I opened the Home Free link on YouTube again. I am indeed a big fan of this five-member acappella group. Not because of the chorus that is so compact and harmonious, or the achievements and peculiarities of the country music genre, but also the choice of songs and of course the seemingly endless productivity, even in the midst of a pandemic. I was surprised, it seems that not long ago I didn't follow the Home Free broadcast update, I was left behind. I was surprised, especially when I got Austin Brown, the tenor for the male vocal group, to sing solo (accompanied by guitar only). The first song that I enjoyed on the link and which was quite memorable was the song Unchained Melody, an old song from Evis Presley that came back and made a big hit in the 1990s thanks to the film Ghost with Demi Moore as the actress. Wow. How impressive. Austin demonstrates a wide range of voices and excellent singing techniques. The falsetto are smoothly articulated. Accompanied by an electric guitar that does not dominate, the message of Austin chants is conveyed well. It brought me to the atmosphere in an era where the film was widely shown in cinemas in Indonesia. No wonder Austin's viewers are now nearly three million. Praise came in response to his appearance. Especially because the show became more relevant, appearing before Valentine's Day came. So smart. "I will play this for my husband of 62+ years. He now has advanced stage Parkinson's disease with dementia. This was our song, and I believe that he will respond. First I need to stop crying," said a fan. "I called it !! He watched the whole time, and he even sang a bit! Thank you !!" Thank you, Austin, for instilling compassion in the midst of the need. (Salute to Austin. Optimistic and moved, seeing the tendency of his fans. The latest solo song Rest of My Life, which just appeared on YouTube on February 16, 2021, in a matter of a few hours has seen more than 12 thousand visitors. I am happy. But, of course I hope Austin doesn't get too engrossed in solo so as not to forget Home Free. Undeniable, I love Home Free.) ***

bottom of page