top of page

If I Were Sertiana

It is not a kind of fiction. It is a real story. It will tell you about Sertiana, my pal.

I have known Sertiana since many years ago. She is a kind and beautiful woman. We often meet. I visit her to support her to get through her poor condition. She has got some chronic illnesses which lead her to take rest at home. She is a pet lover. A real fanatic one, if I may say. One day, she adopted a dog named Shadow, a little young white fullfiedged male dog. Then, she was given another one named Blacky, a medium-sized black fullfiedged female dog.They were cute pets. They are still.



Ya, finally it happened. Blacky was getting pregnant and delivered six puppies, three males and three females. She named them after their physical performances or habbits: Platty, Belty, Smally, Sleepy, Missy, and Felly. She named Platty after his body shape which was flatter than others. Belty had a black hairy area surrounding his waist, like a belt on his white body. Smally was named after his little-sized body. Sleepy liked to sleep alot by laying down her body on the floor. Missy looked comfortable by hiding at the room corner or under the table, so Sertiana often needed to call her when the feeding time was coming. Felly liked to be closed to Soso, the only cat in Sertiana’shouse.




Besides them, my fifty-year old pal had already had Browny which was named after his brown body, a local smooth downy dog. Its body was shiny like a metal, upright and agile. So, she had ten pets at that time and could be more if we wanted also to number her fishes.

Here was when the story began to be not so full of fun anymore.The dogs had grown up so fast we thought, when we found the three ones were getting pregnant.And, then their descendants were getting more and more. I had reminded her few times to give some dogs to other person, before it was too late. She wanted to actually, but she never did it.

"How if I give my pets and they will not be treated well?" she asked. "I couldn't stand it for, if that would happen to my pets."

And, here she is. She has lived with 40 dogs in her house recently. Soso and the fishes are still there, too. She has got her 19 dogs fertilized and is still waiting for other next turns.

Yes, she is my pal, the closest one. But, I can not impose my suggestion on her. I know she needs the pets to make her more relaxed. She seems so happy while getting closed to her pets. I can see it.

Now, here I am who keep saying to myself: "If I were Sertiana, I would give some dogs to others."Or, must I say this? "Sertiana, you should have given some to others since earlier, if you didn’t want to have such a big size family of pets.”


bottom of page